Tackling Climate Change Together

By signing the Chicago Climate Charter, cities pledge to:

  • Achieve a percent reduction in carbon emissions in line with the Paris Agreement;
  • Quantify, track and publicly report city emissions, consistent with standards and best practices of measurement and transparency;
  • Advocate alongside other mayors for greater local authority and flexibility to develop policies and local laws that empower cities to take aggressive action on climate;
  • Recognize and include groups traditionally underrepresented in climate policy;
  • Incorporate the realities of climate change and its impacts into local infrastructure and emergency planning through strategies of adaptation and resilience;
  • Support strong regional, state and federal policies and partnerships, as well as private sector initiatives, that incentivize the transition to a new climate economy; and
  • Partner with experts, communities, businesses, environmental justice groups, advocates, and other allies, to develop holistic climate mitigation and resilience solutions.

Read the press release for more info on the 2017 North American Climate Summit.

Signatories to the Chicago Climate Charter

Mayor Steve Skadron, Aspen, CO USA

Mayor Steve Adler, Austin, TX USA

Mayor Denny Doyle of Beaverton, Oregon USA

Mayor Jesse Arreguin, Berkeley CA USA

Mayor Michael P. Cahill, Beverly, MA USA

Mayor Marty Walsh, Boston, MA USA

Mayor Suzanne Jones, Boulder, CO USA

Mayor Rahm Emanuel, Chicago, IL USA

Mayor Héctor Insúa Garcia, Colima Col. Mexico

Mayor Isaya Mwita Charles, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Mayor Mike Duggan, Detroit, MI USA

Mayor Stephen Hagerty, Evanston, IL USA

Mayor Wade Troxell, Ft. Collins, CO USA

Mayor Barrett Pederson Village, Franklin Park, IL USA

Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson, Gary, IN USA

Mayor Kevin Burns, Geneva, IL USA

Mayor Enrique Alfaro, Guadalajara Jal., Mexico

Mayor Rick Bonnette, Halton Hills, ON Canada

Mayor Rodney Craig, Village of Hanover Park, IL USA

Mayor Kirk Caldwell, Honolulu, HI USA

Mayor Serge Dedina, Imperial Beach, CA USA

Mayor Jim Throgmorton of Iowa City, IA, USA

Mayor Madeline Rogero, Knoxville TN USA

Mayor Eric Garcetti, Los Angeles, CA USA

Mayor Greg Fischer, Louisville KY, USA

Mayor Miguel Mancera, Mexico City, CDMX Mexico

Mayor Tom Barrett, Milwaukee WI USA

Mayor Mark Gamba, Milwaukie OR USA

Mayor John Engen, Missoula MT USA

Mayor Matt Brolley, Montgomery IL, USA

Mayor Valérie Plante, Montreal, QC Canada

Mayor Arlene Burns, Mosier, OR USA

Mayor Mitchell Landrieu, New Orleans, LA USA

First Deputy Mayor Tony Shorris, NY, NY USA

Mayor Ras Baraka, Newark, NJ USA

Mayor Connie Leon-Kreps, North Bay Village, FL, USA

Mayor Anan Abu-Taleb, Oak Park, IL, USA

Mayor Anne Hidalgo, Paris France

Mayor John Ostenburg, Park Forest, IL USA

Mayor Jim Kenney, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Mayor Greg Stanton, Phoenix, AZ USA

Mayor Cindy Perry, Pittsboro, NC USA

Mayor Bill Peduto, Pittsburgh, PA USA

Mayor Ted Wheeler, Portland, OR USA

Mayor Liz Lempert, Princeton, NJ USA

Mayor Jorge Elorza, Providence, RI USA

Mayor Hillary Schieve, Reno, NV USA

Mayor Tom Butt, Richmond, CA USA

Mayor Catherine Adduci, Village of River Forest, IL USA

Mayor Darrell Steinberg, Sacramento, CA USA

Mayor Jackie Biskupski, Salt Lake City, UT USA

Mayor Chris Coleman, Saint Paul, MN USA

Mayor Ed Lee, San Francisco, CA USA

Mayor Heidi Harmon, San Luis Obispo, CA USA

Mayor Sam Liccardo, San Jose, CA USA

Mayor Ted Winterer, Santa Monica, CA USA

Mayor Jenny Durkan, Seattle, WA USA

Mayor Mike Vandersteen, Sheboygan, WI USA

Mayor Joseph Curtatone, Somerville, MA USA

Mayor Paula McCombie, South Barrington, IL USA

Mayor Walter Sendzik, St Catharines, ON Canada

Mayor Rick Kriseman, St Petersburg, FL, USA

Mayor John Tory, Toronto, ON Canada

Mayor Lou Ogden, Tualatin, OR, USA

Mayor Shelley Welsch, University City, MO, USA

Mayor Gregor Robertson, Vancouver, BC Canada

Mayor Muriel Bowser, Washington, D.C. USA

Mayor Sam Cunningham, Waukegan, IL USA

President Barack Obama

44th President of the United States

Anne Hidalgo

Mayor of Paris, Chair of C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group

Steve Adler

Mayor of Austin

Miguel Angel Mancera

Mayor of Mexico City

Gregor Robertson

Mayor of Vancouver

Enrique Alfaro Ramirez

Mayor of Guadalajara

Ed Lee

Mayor of San Francisco

“Now, more than ever, cities are leading on bold and innovative initiatives that not only reduce our carbon footprint but also help develop a 21st century economy.”
Mayor Rahm Emanuel, City of Chicago, Climate Mayor